Tennessee Criminal Records
Instant Access to State, County and Municipal Records
What Are Tennessee Criminal Records?
Criminal records contain information on the criminal antecedents of an individual and the journey through law enforcement and the criminal justice system in Tennessee. Information on the arrest, alleged crime or charges, court proceedings, rehabilitation or correctional status of the individual may be found in their criminal record.
The Tennessee Bureau of Investigation maintains a database of criminal history, which can be accessed by the general public and qualified organizations. Criminal records may contain the
- Name and aliases of the offender
- Date of birth and age
- Physical description such as height, weight, hair color, eye color
- Markings such as tattoos and /or scars
- Correctional status
Information on a person’s criminal records lingers unless formally sealed or expunged. Before July 2017, only persons with dismissed criminal charges could expunge their records. Currently, persons with criminal convictions if eligible under the provision of the new law may also be able to officially remove their criminal history from public records.
What Are Tennessee Arrest Records?
An arrest record provides official information on persons who have been apprehended or taken into the custody of law enforcement officers on the basis of an alleged crime. Persons arrested may be officially charged with a crime in which case, the criminal justice system is initiated against them. An arrest does not always result in a criminal charge, Nevertheless, an arrest record will contain information on the arrested person such as their name, date of birth, race, physical description and most importantly, their fingerprint, collected and stored through the Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS)used in identifying persons under arrest.
What Is Tennessee Arrest Warrant?
An arrest warrant is an official document that empowers law enforcement officers to take a person into custody for an alleged offense. An arrest warrant often contains the name, address or location, physical descriptions and other information that confirms the authority conferred by the court on behalf of the state to law enforcement officers and identifies the intended arrestee. A judge or magistrate issues law enforcement agents an arrest warrant on the grounds that they show probable cause or persuasive reason or evidence that the person named on the warrant of arrest has allegedly committed a crime.
What Are Misdemeanors In Tennessee?
A misdemeanor is an offense defined under Tennessee criminal laws and generally described as lesser offenses in comparison to felonies though they may be punishable by up to 11 months and 29 days imprisonment and up to $2,500 in fines. Misdemeanors are separated into different levels, Class A, B, C. Depending on the severity of the crime, the law also provides applicable punishments.
- Class A misdemeanors in Tennessee carry jail sentences of up to 11.5 months and fines of up to $2,500. Common Class A misdemeanors include domestic assault, possession of marijuana, and DUIs.
- Class B misdemeanors in Tennessee carry jail sentences of up to 6 months and fines of up to $500. Common Class B misdemeanors include reckless driving and prostitution.
- Class C misdemeanors in Tennessee carry jail sentences of up to 1 month and fines of up to $50. Common Class C misdemeanors include speeding, wildlife violations, and petty theft.
What Are Felonies in Tennessee?
A felony offense is a serious criminal offense that poses a great threat to lives and property. The most severe punishments are reserved for felonies by the law and the courts because of the devastating effects they have on people and society as a whole. Tennessee laws grade felonies by class, depending on the gravity of the offense and prescribe appropriate punishment for each class of felonies
- Class A felonies are punishable with a minimum of 15 years but not more than 60 years in prison and a fine not exceeding the sum of $50,000 except the law states otherwise.
- Class B felonies may result in a prison term of up to 30 years rs and a minimum of 8 years in prison. An additional fine of up to $25,000 may be assessed and payable by the offender.
- Class C felonies carry up to a minimum of 3 years and a maximum of 15 years in prison. A fine of up to $10,000 may be applicable
- Class D felonies, 2 years but not more than 12 years in prison. A jury may assess a fine of up to $5,000.
- Class E felonies are the least severe of all the classes of felonies and may be punishable with up to 6 years in prison. The minimum sentence for class E felonies is 1 year in imprisonment and a fine of not more than $3,000
- Penalties such as death and life imprisonment are reserved for capital offenses like 1st-degree murder.
What Is Tennessee Sex Offender Listing?
A sex offender listing contains detailed information collected and maintained by law enforcement agencies in accordance with the Sex offender registration law, on persons who have been convicted of certain sex crimes. Information on registered sex offenders in Tenessee are public and must be continually updated by the sex offender at required intervals. The Tennessee Sex Offender and Violent Sex Offender Registration, Verification and Tracking Act is continually updated with additional restrictions and monitoring of registered sex offenders with more public access to their information.
What Are Serious Traffic Violations in Tennessee?
A traffic violation often involves a breach of any of the provisions of Tenessee traffic laws. Traffic violations are generally classified as minor offenses which often results in issuance of a traffic ticket by law enforcement officers or added points to offender’s driving records by the Tenessee Department of Safety, However, serious traffic violations which result or could possibly result in dm=amage to property, serious bodily harm or death attract more severe consequences and fall under the category of more serious offenses such as Class A or B misdemeanors and/ or felonies. Serious traffic offenses may include
- Reckless driving
- Reckless endangerment
- Causing the death or injury of a person
- Feeling the scene of an accident after causing the death or injury of a person
- Vehicular assault
- Aggravated vehicular homicide
- Driving with a canceled, revoked or suspended license
What Are Tennessee Conviction Records?
A conviction record contains information on the final verdict of the court following a criminal trial in which the offender was found guilty or pleaded guilty to the criminal charges against them. In some cases, a person who has pleaded nolo contendere may also be convicted of their alleged criminal offense.
Once convicted, the court will pass a sentence, a penalty to hold the offender accountable for the offense. The sentence may may include a term of incarceration, incarceration with eligibility for parole, probation, a combination of incarceration and probation, payment of fines, restitution and other sentences or a combination of sentences permissible under the law, depending on the class of offense convicted for, the circumstances of the case and the trial court.
What Are Inmate Records in Tennessee?
Jail and inmate records contain information on the status of persons who were or are serving a term of incarceration under the custody and administration of the Tennessee Department of Corrections. Although inmate records may be obtained online, specific details and verification of inmate status or data may be required from the source of such information such as the facilities in which the inmate is located or county jail in which the inmate was held.
What is Tennessee Parole Information?
Parole records provide information on the early conditional release of an inmate from incarceration after they have served part of their prison sentence and, due consideration at a parole hearing by the Tennessee Board of Probation and Parole. The Parolee is released into the community under strict terms and conditions to ensure they refrain from further criminal activities, receive the necessary support to reintegrate them into the society and see to it that they pose no risk or threat to public safety. A parolee is subject to the supervision of a Parole officer who may enforce the Parolee’s conditions of Parole and issue the Parolee a warning or recommend the revocation of parole if the Parolee violates vital conditions of their parole such as committing another crime. Parole is usually granted for a specified period of time and the parolee may be discharged and issue a certificate of discharge by the Board once they have successfully completed their sentence and strictly abiding by the conditions of their parole. Parole information remains part of the parolee’s public criminal records, even after they are discharged.
What Are Tennessee Probation Records?
Probation records contain information on the sentences pronounced by a court following the conviction of an offender for a criminal offense. It is a form of leniency granted by the court, often for first-time offenders or minor criminal offenses, permitting the offender to serve a specified term under the supervision of a probation officer and the Department of Corrections. The court may also order probation as part of a prison sentence such that the offender may serve part of their sentence in incarceration and the other within their community.
The probationer is not without limitations while on probation, in fact, the court imposes strict conditions that the probationer is required to comply with or risk revocation of probation and possible incarceration.
What Are Juvenile Criminal Records in Tennessee?
A juvenile criminal record contains information on the criminal antecedents of a person below the legal adult age. A juvenile delinquent in Tennesse is a person below the age of 18 who is alleged to have committed an offense or has been adjudicated as a delinquent by the Juvenile Court following the applicable court procedures and proceedings. Juvenile court records are generally restricted from public access except as permitted by Tenessee statute in cases where the juvenile is 14 years and older and has committed a serious offense such as 1st or 2nd-degree murder, aggravated rape, rape, rape of a child, kidnapping, aggravated robbery, aggravated kidnapping.
Can Juvenile Criminal Records be Expunged in Tennessee?
Juvenile records may be expunged in Tennessee if the juvenile meets all the criteria for expungement provided by the la which includes
- They are at least 18 years old
- Have never been convicted as a minor or adult of a sexual offense
- The court has reasons to believe that the minor is reformed since their last adjudication and it is in their interest to expunge the juvenile criminal records
- It is at least 1 year since their last juvenile adjudication
An expungement of juvenile court records may not necessarily affect law enforcement records such as fingerprints, photographs, and files on the criminal act allegedly committed by the juvenile.